Shortcomings

I am still dealing with this stupid plateau. I’m 32 lbs closer to my goal weight and I have been stuck at my current weight for about three weeks. I know I’m supposed to be all Zen right now and it’s not about numbers on a scale but about being healthy and changing my life. I know all this. I tell myself this every time I step on the scale and see those same three numbers, silently mocking me. But here I am, super frustrated, and using all my might to refuse the Milano cookies they have out in the open here in my office. I keep hearing that sometimes when you plateau is because your body has reached the weight it’s supposed to be. I don’t know; that seems unlikely. I know stressing about weight is also not helping because stress can impede weight loss. What annoys me is that I understand all that but I’m still obsessing about this. A lot. Why is it that my brain refuses to get with the program and a) keeps making me stressed and b) keeps making me crave comfort food that I shouldn’t be having?

It isn’t merely the plateau issue; I have this fear of not measuring up. I look at other WLS patient’s progress blogs and I feel like I should be farther along in my weight loss, like I’m not enough of a success, isn’t that ridiculous? Even Mark was telling me last night that it seems like I just try to look for things to make myself feel bad about my progress. It’s a struggle but I’m trying to change my attitude around and trying to focus on what I’ve done instead of what I have left to do.

How about you? Do you sometimes feel like you’re not measuring up? How do you handle self-doubt?

One thought on “Shortcomings

  1. Everyone feels like they don’t measure up at some point or another. You should be proud that you ACTUALLY understand that you are being negative about everything you have accomplished.

    I handle self doubt with exercise and talking to my mom/dad/husband. Adrian is really amazing at lifting my spirits. Just keep working out amiga, keep doing the couch to 5K plan! The more distance you cover, the more calories you will burn.

    5K in 3 weeks 🙂

    and I’ve decided to join you…. WHOOHOOOO!!!!

Leave a Reply

