To Reset Or Not To Reset…

As you all know, I’ve been obsessed with my progress lately; so I’ve been looking around for ways to kickstart my weight loss once again. I’ve upped my exercise, played around with my caloric intake, etc. and nothing seems to be making a difference. So, as I was talking Aslynn about this last night, I’m seriously considering doing the 5 Day Pouch Test.

Now, hear me out. I know I’ve said time and time again that I would not resort to crazy diets to lose these last 32lbs the “natural way” without taking any shortcuts, but I wouldn’t necessarily call a “pouch reset” a shortcut. It’s basically me going back to the diet that I had right after surgery but condensed so that it’s all done within five days as opposed to five weeks. The first two days is basically just a liquid diet where I can drink low-carb/low-sugar protein shakes. Then day three I can have soft protein in 15-minute increments. Finally on days four and five I can eat firm and solid proteins, still in the 15-minute increments. Supposedly this will “reset” my pouch so it feels like it did right after surgery, and also it should make me start losing weight again.

Obviously, with all the caloric restriction that this diet will entail, I am going to wait until after the Lou Gehrig’s Disease 5k, since I need more calories when I’m constantly running. Which brings me to wonder if I’m going to feel too weak to work out during the pouch reset… Right after surgery I used to feel so tired all the time, all I wanted was sleep. I hope it isn’t anything like that with this pouch reset.

What do you guys think? Should I try this?

4 thoughts on “To Reset Or Not To Reset…

  1. I mean, I obviously think you should. The decision-making process, to me, is no different than deciding to have the surgery. It’s not a crazy liquids only until you loose the weight diet…you’re just trying to influence a physical change to your body that will help you follow the rules of good nutrition.

    The weakness is a totally valid concern. I felt great the first 3 weeks after surgery, but the painkillers helped. 😉 Consider the length of time though…I didn’t feel rotten and weak until weeks 4, 5, and 6. You’ll also be able to drink these liquids faster than you could back during surgery. I don’t THINK you’ll feel any weakness effects, probably just hunger and dissatisfaction. But I don’t know for sure. Certainly keep us all posted!

  2. I am opposed to ALL crazy fad diets like this one. I read the plan, it sounds awful to me. But then again, I also thought the surgery was a bad choice, as you well know. I still believe it could have been accomplished with a healthy diet and exercise, but on the other side, I appreciate what the surgery has done to your life: you are happier and more confident than ever before!
    I understand weight loss is different for all, and I wish I already had my Masters in Dietetics so I could give you professional advice. All I can say, as a friend and health-enthusiast, is to TRULY up your cardio. I would suggest AT LEAST 90 minutes of cardio a day, with weights/abs 3 times a week, and yoga once a week. I know we are all pressed for time, but if you split your workouts it is doable. Do some before work, some after work. It’s not easy waking up at 4:30am to work out, but it is worth it.
    If you decide to start this diet, I just ask that you stop the moment you feel faint.
    Love you!

    • I don’t know about waking up at 4:30 AM but I could start lengthening my walks/jogs after work. I’m averaging out 45-60 min, an extra 15-30 min couldn’t hurt.
      I know the diet SOUNDS awful, especially if you’ve never had the surgery, but the pouch makes it easier.
      I dunno, I need to give this a lot of thought.

  3. What do you have to lose? I say go for it. If I run into issues down the road I imagine I would try it also.

Leave a Reply

