A Pain in the Hip. Literally.

So, ever since I’ve taken up running (or really, since I started doing cardio consistently); I’ve been suffering from pain in my right hip. The pain has gotten worse the more exercise I do, and I had assumed it had to do with my shoes, so I figured it would be done once I got new ones. During my run/walk yesterday I felt no pain and even when I came home I felt great, then after my shower the hip pain came back. It is so annoying! It’s this shooting pain in my right hip, on the outside of the hip that radiates to the right side of my lower back and sometimes my right butt cheek down to my knee. Last night and today I feel it only in my hip, especially when I walk and put weight on that side.

I’ve been looking around online for causes/diagnoses (much to Mark’s chagrin) and it seems that hip pain is common for runners, because of a number of ailments from hip bursitis to ITBS. However, these symptoms don’t match any of those 100%. I don’t know, I suppose I should go to the doctor but I hate the fact that I’m sort of insurance-less at the moment and I’d have to pay full price for him to just be like “Oh, just rest it” or something.

To my friends who run or walk a lot, do you experience hip pain? How do I fix it?

9 thoughts on “A Pain in the Hip. Literally.

  1. I heard on NPR news about pains like this…due to activity or no activity…check their website maybe they have the report. It was pretty interesting.

  2. Amiga, you are probably doing too much too fast, you should only increase 10% to your weekly mileage to remain injury free. You can’t “suck-up” pain for a race, that’s just not good for you. Whenever I have an injury I stop running until it feels better.

    If you keep running on an injured hip, it’s just going to get worse, and then you’ll be out of commission for months, instead of days or weeks.

    You probably need to stretch more (after running) as well as practicing RICE (Rest, Ice Compress, Elevate) I do it after all my long runs. You may want to get a foam roller for your IT band.

    I suggest you stop toughing it out and rest of the rest of this week. Do some light cardio like swimming in the meantime.

    love you!

  3. Pingback: Help me, Jesus. « 40 and Counting….

  4. Pingback: Go See The Doctor « Indigo Moods

  5. Cure of tendon injuries is essentially practical. Using non-steroidal anti-inflammatory medications coupled with Physical Therapy, rest, orthotics or braces, and moderate return to workout is a common therapy. An acronym used to list the remedial treatments in fixing tendinitis is “RICE”: Rest, Ice, Compress, and Elevate. Resting assists in the prevention of further injury to the tendon. Ice is effective at soothing pain, restricting too much swelling, and stimulating blood circulation after the fact. Compression and elevation both perform similarly to ice in their ability to restrict excessive, unnecessary inflammation.Initial recovery is commonly within 2 to 3 days and full recuperation is within 4 to 6 week.Visit my site to learn more about bursitis treatment http://tendlite.com/bursitis-treatment

  6. 95 per month you will get unlimited disk space and bandwidth.
    Choosing your web host depends on making a decision between Windows and Linux hosting.
    Other features that you will surely enjoy from the GVO hosting package are the complete video marketing system, conferencing system, limitless auto-responder
    system, downtime witness and lead capture and prospecting feature.

  7. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a blog web
    site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a
    little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

Leave a Reply

